Bring in the new year right Look back for a moment.

Life is about love laughter learning, self discovery and charity.  Guess what?  You can stack the deck in your favor now for 2010.  If for you it is about something else then be sure to substitute or include it up front, right now, at the beginning of the year.  Notice I’ve suggested nothing about resolutions.  If you have already done that good for you.  If you haven’t done that yet, I say “good for you” too.  Many of our years are packed with impotent resolutions.

As we profess the beginning of this year don’t be too quick to bury the past.  First, consider what you have or can learn and carry forward.  Determine what life lessons you have uncovered to help you more effectively navigate tomorrow.

It is well worth it for you to take a few golden minutes to really reflect on the past year and see what memories and accomplishments you hold dear.  Investing just “A few minutes” is your choice.  It is defined by you but certainly your life, your year is worth at least 15 minutes, to start .  You can test the waters in 15 minutes and decide how much more and how much more often you will do this.

Surviving a struggle, attending a graduation or wedding celebration and reclaiming your equilibrium after a major trauma are just a few examples that can represent specific meaningful experiences worth noting.  As or even more importantly are the responses you chose then and choose now to those experiences.  How will you engineer your response to help you in the next year?  Write this down.  Do this FOR YOU.

Whether you use a “journal” or simply decide to write these milestones down as a means to document and review without title or not is immaterial.   You can make or uncover the real value and lessons by observing them after having lived through them.  Perhaps a audio or video accounting is better for you.  Guess what?  It is up to you!  Do something.  Don’t you think you are worth it?

Explore posts in the same categories: Making a Difference

5 Comments on “Bring in the new year right Look back for a moment.”

  1. vividumas Says:

    This year my resolution is simple; be the best and treat others well. Every year I have a litany of resolutions and few come to fruition. Most items end up on the list year after year. This year all I can do is be the best person I can be, do something I feel is memorable, and love those around me the way they deserve to be loved. I’ll handle everything else as it comes along. I wish you and yours prosperity and good health in 2010!

  2. Alicia Says:

    Very thought provoking. We are usually so busy making goals for the new year that we neglect to reflect on the previous year, which was filled with both challenges and victories. While we tend to focus on the struggles of the past, we can certainly learn and grow from them to create more victories in the future.


    • Hello Alicia, Thank you. I love what you have done as well. Congratulations for making such a difference in the world. I have noted your link on my blog. Please feel free to share mine as well.

  3. vividumas Says:

    Last year was a struggle for me, but the one thing I did walk away with from the experience that I am applying this year is – I cannot be all things to all people without loosing some of myself. This year will be a time of regaining those pieces of my identity that belongs solely to me. In our quest to help others, we sometimes forget the concept of self-preservation. 2010 will be a year that I do some things for Vivian. I think in return my family and friend will benefit from it.

  4. vividumas Says:

    Last year was a struggle for me, but I did walk away understanding that I cannot be all things to all people without loosing some of myself. This year will be a time of regaining those pieces of my identity that belongs solely to me. I think in return my family and friends will benefit from it.


Leave a Reply

