When the Journey Seems… a Bit Much, “Smile”

On my way to work this morning I had the privilege of hearing Kirk Franklin lead his group in singing “I Smile. ”  If you haven’t heard it go directly to youtube after reading this and then you may even be inspired to purchase it for download (try http://www.kirkfranklin.com/).  My morning started well enough but you know how sometimes the weight of things may take their toll cumulatively and we may not be as mindful for our own needs as much as for another?  It can make us run out of gas more quickly.  I guess I was there even though I have taken some very conscious steps to add zest to the best of my days. 

When the song came on my spirit soared.  My heart roared.  My gratitude poured.  I play the song often enough.  I am on the path of my hearts desire.  I am living passionately and I sure needed to hear that song at that moment.  Most of us can stand to treat ourselves well more.  We work to be the change that we want to see in the world as Ghandi said; we would be wise to be the change that we want to see in OUR WORLD as well.

It is amazing and uncommonly used common sense to do the things that fuel us when we are low on fuel.  Deep breathing, prayer and meditation, deliberate action and consultation are just a few obvious things we may not do as much as we could.  Good music and good friends can lift the spirit too.  How often do you do – for you?  In my book, IF YOU CAN’T CALM THE WATERS LEARN TO RIDE THE WAVES – HOW TO SUCCEED IN TURBULENT TIMES, I list 101 Ways to Cope with Stress that I received from a flyer provided by the Rockville Maryland Health Association who adapted the list from the Mental Health Association in Greater San Antonio.  But it is not about quantity.  Taking care of yourself is individual and situational.  Just be awake and open and be sure to take healthy doses of good living to “keep it moving.”  I may have mentioned this list in an earlier entry.  It is well worth repeating.  Take care of you.  This way you are in a better position to be a help to this you care about.

Explore posts in the same categories: Happiness and Success

Tags: , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

